18.3 C
Thursday, April 22, 2021

Sadiq Sanjrani successful,yousaf Raza Gilani disappointed

ISLAMABAD: Government candidate Sadiq Sanjrani defeated Yousuf Raza Gilani, joint candidate of Opposition Alliance PDM, and was re-elected as Chairman Senate.

Sadiq Sanjarani got 48 votes and Yousuf Raza Gilani got 42 votes while 8 votes were rejected out of which 7 votes belonged to Yousuf Raza Gilani.

Presiding Officer Senator Muzaffar Hussain presided over the sitting of the Upper House in which the newly elected Senators were sworn in. As per the rules, the presiding officer appointed by the President, Senator Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah administered oath to the newly elected members of the Senate.

Government candidates Sadiq Sanjarani and Mirza Afridi while PDM candidates Yousuf Gilani and Abdul Ghafoor Haideri submitted nomination papers which were accepted. The Presiding Officer declared the nomination papers of the candidates valid.

The meeting was adjourned for Friday prayers after which the Presiding Officer released the schedule for the election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman Senate.

Senate members voted alphabetically for chairman. The first vote was cast by Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri. The House has 100 members but due to Jamaat-e-Islami’s decision to abstain and Ishaq Dar not taking oath, 98 senators were present in the meeting and they cast their votes.

Yousuf Raza Gilani’s 7 votes rejected

7 votes were rejected due to incorrect stamping in the count, including 7 votes of Yousuf Raza Gilani. These votes were rejected because their names were stamped instead of the box in front of them. One ballot bearer was rejected for stamping both candidates.

Thus, government candidate Sadiq Sanjarani was once again elected chairman of the Senate.

The presiding officer said that these 7 belts were stamped outside the box so they were rejected. Rejected votes went out of Yousuf Raza Gilani’s box.

Opposition objection

The opposition challenged the rejection of Yousuf Raza Gilani’s vote and made a lot of noise. PPP’s Farooq H Naik brought a book of the constitution and told the presiding officer that he was violating the constitution. Government polling Mohsin Aziz said that the constitution clearly states that the seal should be affixed in front of the candidate’s box.

The presiding officer, after hearing the views of both the parties, rejected the vote and asked the opposition to challenge my decision in the Election Commission.

Chairman Sadiq Sanjarani took oath

After the election of the Chairman, the Presiding Officer administered the oath of office to the new Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani after which the Senate Sadiq Sanjrani took charge of the House. He will now elect a deputy chairman.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles