32.1 C
Tuesday, June 15, 2021

Taliban claim control of five key districts in Afghanistan

KABUL: The Taliban have claimed control of five key districts in different provinces of Afghanistan from government forces.

Taliban spokesman Zabihullah Mujahid wrote in a series of tweets that key districts in Zabul, Uruzgan, Ghazni and Nuristan had been recaptured by government forces, according to the International News Agency.

Earlier, the Taliban claimed to have established their own government in four districts of Maidan Wardak, Baghlan and Laghman. Thus, the Taliban have established complete control over a total of 9 districts.

Afghan Interior Ministry spokesman Tariq Aryan told the Associated Press that he rejected the Taliban’s claim that Afghan security forces had retreated strategically.

According to Afghan media, Taliban fighters entered various districts of five provinces, including Zabul, and seized security checkpoints, forcing security personnel to retreat after a fierce clash.

It should be noted that the withdrawal of US troops from Afghanistan has begun, which will be completed by September 11, but in the meantime, clashes between the Taliban and security forces have intensified, with the Taliban gaining victory on several fronts.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles